Board of Trustees


Prof. Amitabh Kundu, Chairperson

Prof. Amitabh Kundu is an eminent social scientist and professor at Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi and a visiting faculty at several international universities. He is the Chairperson of the Committee to estimate shortage of Affordable Housing at Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation.

Dr. Rajesh Tandon

Dr. Rajesh Tandon is the President of PRIA and is internationally known for his contribution to participatory research. The Chairperson of many international committees, as well as, of the advisory committees of Government of India, he is currently the Chairperson of UNESCO in community based research and social responsibility in higher education.

Mr. Ashok Singh, Treasurer

Mr. Ashok Singh is the Executive Director of SSK (Sahbhagi Shikshan Kendra), Lucknow, which is a state level support organization specializing in participatory training. He is the executive committee member of VANI, a network of NGOs and serves as member on various committees set up by the Government of U.P.

Ms. Rekha Gujare, Trustee

Ms. Rekha Gujare is the Director of voluntary organization 'Pradeepan', working with tribals in Betul district for a long time. She is committed to mainstreaming of tribal women, making them aware of their rights and organizing them for participation in development and governance.

Dr. Indira Misra, Trustee

Dr. Indira Misra is a retired Additional Chief Secretary from the Government of Chhattisgarh. Dr. Mishra was the Director of Rashtriya Mahila Kosh, Delhi and served as the Principal Secretary in various departments in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

Ms. Banashree Banerjee, Trustee

Ms. Banashree Banerjee is an Urban Planner. She has been a consultant on urban poverty reduction projects in India, Egypt and Bangladesh. The focus of her work has been inclusive and participatory approaches to urban planning and management.

Prof. Rajendra Gupta, Trustee

Prof. Rajendra Gupta is a professor at Management Development Institute (MDI), Gurgaon and former faculty member of IIM, Lucknow. He serves as member on various boards of the Public Sector Companies.

Dr. Madhu Verma, Trustee

Dr. Madhu Verma is professor of Environment and Developmental Economics at Indian Institute of Forest Management, Bhopal. She has done seminal work in the area of environmental cost-benefit analysis of various development programmes. She did her Post-Doctoral research work at the University of California (Berkeley) and University of Massachusetts (Amherst), USA.

Mr. A.K Surana, Trustee

Mr. Surana is Chartered Accountant and Senior Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India.  He has extensive experience in reviewing re-structuring and developing financial management systems and accounting practices, budgeting, expenditure control, procurement procedure, finance, accounting, audit, company law and taxation matters for a host of projects and organizations in corporate and non-corporate entities in Government,  Public and Private Sector.

Dr. Yogesh Kumar, Member Secretary

Dr. Yogesh Kumar has a doctorate in development economics and has worked for several years to promote community participation and supporting development initiatives. He specializes in participatory planning, monitoring and evaluation.


Mr. M. Kandasami, Advisor, Financial Management

Mr. M. Kandasami is a renowned financial and organizational management expert in South Asia with more than two and a half decades of expertise in financial and organizational management of non-profit organizations.